The claim for no-fault benefits must be made within one year of your accident. The claim for compensation for pain and suffering, excessive medical benefits, and other economic damages must be filed within 3 years after the collision. For Michigan drivers, the ticking of the clock begins immediately after a car accident. Most of the state's large insurance providers have included mandatory claims reporting provisions in their policy contracts.
These provisions are often hidden in the small print of a policy that is sent after the application has been signed and the insurance premium has been paid. They require insured motorists to file a notice of claim within a few days of the car accident if they believe that they are, or might even be, entitled to any no-fault benefits as a result of the accident. Injured victims have only one year from the date of the accident to file a no-fault insurance claim with the appropriate insurance company. This includes your own no-fault insurance provider and any insurance the at-fault driver may have to cover more serious injuries.
This exception was applied to suspend the application of the one-year rule from the date the insurance company received a request for payment of a particular expense until the date on which the insurance company formally denied payment of that particular expense. As with the claim notification, the auto insurance claim must be filed on time with the correct car insurance provider. If your medical providers wait too long to send your bills to the insurance company, you can only receive benefits for one year from the time they sent the bills to the insurance company. The insurance company may even approve some types of no-fault insurance benefits in Michigan but deny others.
From car accidents to fatal car accidents, every collision can raise questions about whether and when to file a car insurance claim after a car accident. If you don't report the accident to your insurance company, they may make it impossible for you to recover compensation for your injuries or even cancel your car insurance policy. But do you know when to file the claim, what to include, or what to do if the claim is denied? That's why you need an attorney who specializes in the auto insurance claim process to help you get the most out of your no-fault insurance benefits in Michigan. A car accident lawyer can help you identify all of the auto insurance providers that could provide you with benefits.
Before accepting any settlement on a car insurance claim, contact the auto insurance claims process experts at Christensen Law to ensure that you cover all your benefits. Many auto insurance companies require that you report accidents within three days; some even require notice within 24 hours. Michigan is a no-fault state when it comes to car accidents, which means that the victim of a car accident must file all auto insurance claims with their own car insurance company, regardless of who caused the accident.